Universidad de Sevilla

26 Aug

A few years ago, I spent a year in Sevilla, Spain and while there I studied at the Universidad de Sevilla. The university campus where I studied linguistics, philology and literature was a converted tobacco factory so the inside and outside were really interesting architecturally. I’ve uploaded some photos of the outside to demonstrate, but sadly I don’t have any of the inside of the building.  The outside looks like a castle more than a tobacco factory and even had a moat (sadly not filled with water) running along the outside border so you could only enter through four specific gated areas.  The inside of the building had clearly not been renovated in decades and I got to enjoy sitting on wooden planks that masqueraded as bench-like seating in the classroom auditoriums.  I remember the days when my backside would go numb after sitting on those rock-hard boards for two or more hours. The smaller classrooms had normal desks, thankfully, but all of the classrooms lacked any sort of media/audio-visual equipment.  I was at first really surprised at this type of environment as I was comparing it to the classrooms at the University of Michigan, but then I realized that Andalucía is one of the poorest regions in Spain and the Universidad de Sevilla was most likely putting its money towards its two other campuses which were newer and further out of the city itself.  Despite the lack of renovations, or perhaps because of it, I was able to enjoy the unique atmosphere of the university building. There was a fountain in the central courtyard and various (and often confusing) pathways leading to hidden libraries or classrooms. Almost every other day I found myself quite baffled by where I was in the building and how I was going to get to my next class because of all the confusing hallways and corridors.  Nonetheless, it was a very interesting building with many fun little nooks and crannies to explore.

The first is a photo of one of the four entry points into the academic building of one of the Universidad de Sevilla’s campuses where most of my history, literature, and linguistics classes were located. The three flags represent Andalucia, Spain and the EU. The green and white is the flag of the region of Andalucia, the center red and yellow flag represents the country of Spain, and the blue and yellow on the far right is for the European Union. The second photo is a side view of the Universidad de Sevilla which shows how large the academic building actually was. The academic building was roughly the same size along all four sides. It does not show the moat or gate. The last image of the plaque located on the outside wall of the Universidad de Sevilla can be translated as “Royal Cigarette Factory”.

One Response to “Universidad de Sevilla”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bookmarks about Universidad - Sunday, 1 February 2009

    […] – bookmarked by 1 members originally found by Madyeti47 on 2009-01-02 Universidad de Sevilla https://voiceoftruth.wordpress.com/2008/08/26/universidad-de-sevilla/ – bookmarked by 3 members […]

Leave a Reply

