Feria

20 Jul

In Sevilla, the university typically gives students a week off for Feria.  Imagine Feria as a huge celebration where all the girls wear flamenco dresses and the boys put on suits.  Then they go to the Feria grounds where one half is filled with striped red, green and white tents in which people dance, drink and eat tapas all night long.  The other half is reminiscent of the circus: rides are adorned with brilliant light displays, garish food stands sell sugary foods and stuffed animals are distributed for prizes at game booths.  This second part sounds rather odd, I realize, but I assume this circus-like environment came about as a result of the tents being private areas where only family and guests are permitted.  Thankfully, a friend of mine was invited to her host family’s tent so I was able to enjoy it one of the nights I was in Sevilla, but it honestly wasn’t all that interesting.  I had much more fun playing in the circus area and admiring the colorful flamenco dresses with my friends.

5 Responses to “Feria”

  1. Jessica Sztaimberg Monday, 21 July 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    Hola!

    I saw the feria while I was studying in Malaga! It was SOOO beautiful! I tried for about 30 minutes to get a little flamenco girl to take a picture with me . I finally found twin little girls who were willing (after much prodding) and I will never forget that photo. This weekend event was so much fun! We spent the first part of the night walking around, going on rides, eating churros with chocolate, trying sangria and marveling at the girls dressed in flamenco dresses.

    Later on that night we went to a bunch of clubs and tried to dance with the locals! It was a great weekend, actually one of my first ever in Spain! It showed us a real taste of Spanish culture, I highly recommend it!

  2. Michelle Tuesday, 22 July 2008 at 7:33 pm #

    I’m glad that you enjoyed the Feria as much as I did. It is truly one of my favorite memories of Spain.

  3. Jessica Sztaimberg Thursday, 31 July 2008 at 4:55 pm #

    Have you made it to any other festivals around Spain?

    I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to see the running of the bulls! I’d like to do it too! I wasn’t in Spain at that time however…

    I did manage to catch a Flamenco wedding while I was out with my aunt exploring Malaga, and it was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen!

    The bride rode in on a horse and carriage! Her dress was beautiful, and had pretty ruffles along the bottom, and the men all wore the Flamenco hats.

    It was a great experience running into that wedding!

  4. Michelle Saturday, 2 August 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    I was in Sevilla for half of Semana Santa, but unfortunately I didn’t make it to Pamplona to see the running of the bulls since I was traveling around Germany at the time. I am definitely planning to return as I would really like to experience some of the traditional Spanish festivals and celebrations. I would love to have seen a flamenco wedding; the dresses and accessories are simply gorgeous.

  5. Jessica Sztaimberg Monday, 4 August 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    Michelle,

    You’ll make it back, I’m sure! I’ve already made it back to Barcelona once…

    My aunt actually lives in Spain, in Malaga, so I was very lucky to visit her home, and watch her Spanish traditions.

    Her and my cousin fit the role of host family while I visited them. We enjoyed meals together, and while I couldn’t participate in a lot of the Spanish conversation, it was great practice for my ears! My cousin spoke sooo fast, and his thick Andalucian accent really stuck out! My aunt grew up in Argentina, so her accent is quite different from his.

    The cool thing about my time there was seeing the progress I had made. I called my aunt the day I was leaving Spain, and we had a conversation only in Spanish! It felt awesome to be able to show off what I had learned in my classes! She was really proud of me too- so that felt good. My cousin however- his Spanish is still pretty hard to understand, but that’s because he mumbles🙂

    How was your Spanish when you arrived in Spain?
    I don’t know about you, but all I remember about the first day was that I could NOT believe I was in Spain, and I could barely understand anything that anyone was saying due to my nervous/excited/anxious/happy/sad/scared/overwhelmed/giddy state of mind! It all worked out though!🙂

Leave a Reply

