Semana Santa in Sevilla – Viernes santo

7 Apr

I’m currently in Starbucks along Avenida de Constitution in Sevilla writing some of my long overdue blog entries. Starbucks is easily my favorite place to write entries for my blog. I love watching the people and being inspired or just sitting back with a cup of tea and basking in memories. Right now I’m admiring the procession of Nazarenes in their conical hooded robes. Seeing as it’s nighttime and the Nazarenes outside are all dressed in black with only a red cross embroidered on their sleeve, holding large pole-like candles, my cozy nest inside Starbucks seems to be a world entirely removed from the religious intensity outside. Once I get some decent pictures of the scene and I finish with my two entries I believe I will go outside to absorb the atmosphere. However, even from inside with the cheesy music playing over the speakers I can hear the deep rhythmic beats of the drums on this solemn day of Holy Friday commemorating the death of Jesus. Now you can hear a crashing crescendo as the bearers come ever closer to the Cathedral. The float passes by with the crucified Christ upheld on his cross between the two thieves, his sorrowful mother weeping below him. A pious young man reaches out to touch the float and the song of the marching band echoes in the hearts of the faithful. This is what I have come to see and to witness. This is what makes the tourists, the price gouging, the crowds and all the annoyances worthwhile – the piousness and beauty evident in each person who witnesses this moving ceremony. More Nazarenes pass by each carrying a wooden cross. Following behind, small children are dressed like their older relatives. The new generation celebrates in this ceremony as well. The process will live on and the religious shall not die out but continue on with the years. I want to weep for the beauty of this moment.

Nazarenes Semana Santa Float

Nazarenes with crosses

Semana Santa Float #2 Semana Santa Float #2 sideview

10 Responses to “Semana Santa in Sevilla – Viernes santo”

  1. ym Saturday, 7 April 2007 at 2:48 pm #

    i loved the blog and the pics are awesome. the holy spirit works in you yes weep at the sight and the wonderful gift you received to being there that time to witness it. what great memories you will keep forever all i can say is AMEN
    love ym

  2. Tia Saturday, 7 April 2007 at 3:22 pm #

    WOW………..The pictures are AWESOME. How Great that you are there to experience this. Yes the weeping is the Flesh leaving the body and allowing the Spirit to grow. St. Dominic had the gift of weeping and now your Dominican seeds are coming out with the weeping that you are experiencing there. Make lots of memories and get read for Easter Sunday, it will only get better. First we must suffer with Christ dying on the cross and get ready for the Resurrection of our Lord. How Blessed to be a part of this and to be there to see it all. Get out and ENJOY and celebrate with the people. Feel the pain so you feel the JOY on Easter Sunday. I can only say that I am Blessed to see it all through your eyes and for that I THANK You and Thank God. Keep having FUN and Keep making the memories. LOVE and lots of HUGS

  3. The IF Thursday, 12 April 2007 at 4:34 am #

    Wow! I loves me some pics! That sounds (and looks) like it was really beautiful. The imaginary friend *would* weep, I think… ;-; I always get all sniffled during that time, and we didn’t have anything nearly that cool. I shot some Easter Vigil at St. Mary’s, but nothing was that fun… I want to go somewhere. Take me with you!

  4. Livette Tuesday, 17 April 2007 at 8:20 am #

    Nice blog!

  5. thatspanishrose Thursday, 3 May 2007 at 5:15 am #

    These are gorgeous pics sugar! I’m glad you are having a blast! Question–how can one publicly view their profile here on wordpress?

  6. danielle Tuesday, 22 May 2007 at 8:02 pm #

    update!!

  7. Eileen Monday, 25 June 2007 at 5:24 am #

    Your photos are so beautiful. I am hoping to get some of my own soon.

    I am working on a conference called “An Esoteric Quest for The Golden Age of Andalusia. Sufis, Kabbalists and Christian Philosophers in Medieval Spain”
    We have a page on our site with travel tips: http://www.esotericquest.org/traveltips.html
    I thought it might be useful here and some of your viewers might be interested.

  8. CarLynn Friday, 21 March 2008 at 9:53 pm #

    I have been very fortunate to have experienced Semana Santa in Sevilla 3 times
    (1979, 1987, & 2001). Each time has been exquisitely beautiful and deeply moving. Enjoy your time there–it is truly special!

  9. Bopito Monday, 21 April 2008 at 6:47 pm #

    Following the Semana Santa from Starbucks, that’s like, well, watching the Feria from the MacDonalds. Joder.

  10. Michelle Tuesday, 22 April 2008 at 2:57 pm #

    I kinda have to laugh at that last comment as I can recall the hordes of Sevillanos watching various processions from McDonalds’s, most recently the time the Sevillan football team returned victoriously to the city via the Guadalquivir. I think it’s important to realize that, regardless of intent, our lives are not static and the dichotomy of the modern with the traditional is a fascinating part of life that too many people dismiss without considering the necessity and even beauty of it.

Leave a Reply

