(Not) Feeling the Weather

21 Mar

The fact is I’m feeling terribly sick, most likely I have the flu, and I’m skipping out on my class for the day. I’m only missing 1 hour though so it’s not so bad. My roommates have been out of town for the last week or so and I’m definitely enjoying the freedom to cook and do whatever I want as much as I want without fear of bothering them. They’re nice enough people though so it’s not exactly an issue even when they are here. I haven’t really had anything to post about lately since my classes this semester are ridiculously more time-consuming than last. I have homework almost every other day and so much reading to do it makes my head spin.

Sadly, this means I won’t be able to do as much traveling this semester as I was hoping to. I had been planning to do a 5 day pilgrimage along the Camino de Santiago, but what with having 3 papers due the week I’d be gone (and having to do them before I would leave tomorrow) I decided against it. Of course, this decision was further influenced by my scoping out the weather in the northern region of Spain and more-or-less freaking out. Yeah, it really is that cold. Instead I’ll just be getting a jump on the Semana Santa vacationing by spending a glorious (and hopefully hedonistic) week in Greece starting this coming Wednesday. I should be back in Sevilla to enjoy the last few days of Semana Santa. I’m looking forward to all the pomp and ceremony but I figure that after 4 days it most likely starts to pall.

Afterwards it’ll be back to the daily grind for two weeks and then I’m off to see the wonders of Rome, returning in time to enjoy Feria for just a couple of days if I decide to make further travel plans or I might just stay and enjoy the drunken revelry. Sevillanos know how to party. At least if I stay I have a justifiable reason for buying one of those ridiculously expensive flamenco dresses and all the gaudy accessories. I went to Cortes Ingles the other day and the ground floor looked like a circus gone amok with all the bright displays of Feria garb.

By the time Feria is over I’ll have just a month left of classes and then a month of exams to look forward to. Wow, time sure is starting to fly now. I’ll be spending five days in Prague during June and then once my last exam is over I’m shipping most of my things home and getting the heck out of Sevilla before it becomes (even more) overrun with tourists. July is going to be my month of traveling throughout Europe and doing all that ridiculous stuff I’ve always wanted to do before I have to return to my normal boring life at UM. My birthday is July 7th so I will have to decide what ridiculous thing I want to be doing for it. I was thinking Pamplona and the running of the bulls. Anyone know if you can just sign up when you get there or if they have some special custom allowing only residents? I’ll be turning 21 but no one in Europe is going to care since I’m already legal here and hey, isn’t saying I ran with the bulls better than that I went on a drinking binge? (Since I do that all the time anyway.)

3 Responses to “(Not) Feeling the Weather”

  1. Nicola Thursday, 22 March 2007 at 1:18 am #

    How about the Running of the Nudes? Without the cruelty but with all the fun!

    http://www.runningofthenudes.com

  2. ym Thursday, 22 March 2007 at 2:55 am #

    happy you posted can’t wait to hear about your trip to greece and the rest of the travels this summer. have fun enjoy yourself and wish i could travel around with you a bit love ym

  3. Tia Wednesday, 28 March 2007 at 12:11 pm #

    Looks like you get the BEST of both worlds, first Greece and then back to Sevilla to ENJOY Holy Week. I have heard nothing but GREAT things about it there in Sevilla, people travel from all over just for that week. I was hoping to make the trip, but not this year but God said NO. I will just have to sit home and wait for your post all about it and experience it through your EYES only. Have FUN and keep making the memories. LOVE and HUGS.

Leave a Reply

