Vacation In London

5 Jan

I’m currently in my hostel in Barcelona taking full advantage of the free internet usage. We’ve been here since Wednesday after a rather interesting time in London. The whole 1 pound to 2 dollar exchange rate nearly broke me during our short stay. The city was a lot of fun if slightly grey and overcast; I would’ve loved to spend more time there but with everything costing twice what it should that was made rather difficult.

We got into London early in the morning on the 31st and after sleeping as much as possible we spent the day exploring the town. At night we hit up the fireworks display at Big Ben, or at least, we tried to. The crowds were ridiculous and people got pretty crazy that night. I was rather tipsy the whole time so it seemed like a lot of fun to me.

We spent the next couple of days checking out the tourist sites like Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, the London Eye, and other stuff along those lines. The best parts of London had to be the shopping and the food. Sevilla is a great city but definitely lacking in affordable international cuisine. I got drunk on sushi and Italian.

Well, I had better run off to check out more of the city and grab some dinner.  I’ll expound on this later.  Hasta luego!

3 Responses to “Vacation In London”

  1. ym Saturday, 6 January 2007 at 5:50 am #

    wow! New years eve in London sounds great. glad you had a wonderful time. thanks for posting. hope you enjoy your stay in Barcelona.

  2. Tia Saturday, 6 January 2007 at 5:51 am #

    WOW………..Liked the update. Thanks for sharing. I looked for you when they showed Big Ben on TV for New Years Eve, but the crowds were a bit much, but I think I did see you. Have FUN and ENJOY. Love and Hugs always

  3. The Voice of Truth Saturday, 13 January 2007 at 6:53 pm #

    ym, thank you very much. I had a great time in London and Barcelona was wonderful too. I should soon be done writing the post about that trip so be sure to stop by.

    Haha, Tia, I’m not sure if you could’ve seen me on TV since I don’t think we managed to get anywhere close to Big Ben, but you never know. I hope you had a fun New Year’s Eve as well and best wishes for the new year.

Leave a Reply

