Our Weekend in Paris

7 Dec

We spent a weekend in Paris a few weeks ago and it was definitely one of my favorite travels so far. The city is amazingly beautiful and very different from any I have visited in my time in Spain. I’m not sure if it is true of all of France or simply of Paris, but the architecture and mannerisms are so very different from Spain. I fell in love with the use of greys, off whites and blues used in the architecture since it fit so perfectly with the atmosphere and weather of the area. I was also surprised, not always pleasantly, by the overwhelming use of English to reply to any inquiries made in French. Admittedly, my French is rather poor at the moment because of my constant use of Spanish, but I still think it unfair of them to constantly reply back in English when you are obviously attempting to converse in French.

We arrived at the airport in the mid-afternoon and our first excursion into French tourism was a visit to the Eiffel Tower. We took the elevators all the way to the very top in order to get a real feel for (or rather, view of) the city. It was fun to look at everything spread out, but it was freaking cold! The wind was definitely high and I decided my first order of business was to buy one of those French scarves being sold on every street corner. That night we hit up the red light district of Paris and saw the Moulin Rouge in all its neon lit glory. We also stopped by Sacre Coeur, a beautiful French cathedral that has so far been my favorite in all of Europe for the interior with lots of magnificent arches and light grey stone. Saturday afternoon was devoted to the Louvre, Musee d’Orsay, and Notre Dame with the night spent shopping along L’Avenue de Champs-Elysee and seeing the Arc de Triomphe with the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. We didn’t have much time on Sunday so I got up early to take a tour of the towers of Notre Dame, famous for their gargoyles, or more accurately, chimeras. The statues were absolutely amazing! I am ridiculously glad that I took the time to go, for surely that was my greatest memory of Paris.

EDIT: Here are some pictures of Paris. I forgot to post them earlier.

Eiffel Tower at Night

Psyche and Cupid

Notre Dame

4 Responses to “Our Weekend in Paris”

  1. ym Friday, 8 December 2006 at 5:12 am #

    Paris wow sounds wonderful. glad you enjoyed it, hope you have a chance to return some day. so much to see.

  2. Tia Monday, 11 December 2006 at 8:32 pm #

    Look at you just turning in the WORLD traveler. WOW..the Eiffel Tower that sounds cool. Of course Moulin Rouge with all the neon lit sounds COOL. Keep making the MEMORIES. Have FUN and ENJOY. Love, Hugs and Prayers.

  3. Tia Thursday, 14 December 2006 at 1:18 pm #

    LOVE the pictures of Paris. Thanks for sharing those. I especially LOVE the Eiffel Tower at night. The Art must be beautiful there too. The Church look so beautiful and to see so much GREEN this time of the year, I almost forgot how beautiful the trees look with all their GREEN. Keep SMILING and Keep having FUN and ENJOYING. Love and Hugs.

  4. The Voice of Truth Saturday, 13 January 2007 at 6:45 pm #

    I’m glad you enjoy the pictures, Tia. Those are definitely my favorite ones of Paris, but I must certainly go back in order to take many more.

Leave a Reply

