An Ode to the Dead

23 Oct

Death.  Our greatest fear or greatest love?  He who steals from us that which we love the most, the people in our lives.  And yet, at that moment of our greatest trial he takes us far from where we least want to be: victims of a cruel world, in pain and agony.  Once again he has stolen from us one that we care for, but who are we to complain and rant?  No one but the dead may find fault with he who takes them from their pain.  To a loved one: you will be missed and we sorrow for the loss of your beauty in this world.  May you bring joy to those of the next.

I had been preparing this poem for the anniversary of my grandmother’s death, but with this recent news I feel that it is most appropriate here and now.

My head turns at that remembered scent upon the wind,

That tender fragrance of baby powder.

My ears strain to catch the soft rattle of beads,

Her whispers of glorification to our Blessed Mother.

Her wrinkled hands so patient in their work

Belying the iron strength of her hands honed from years of endless trial.

Her indomitable will hidden beneath that gloriously soft smile

Shining eyes that look into mine with such love and tenderness.

But when my eyes meet those of another

Soft blue covered by clouds are not to be found

Only the cold eyes of a stranger answer my welcoming smile.

My soul weeps where my eyes cannot

And I sorrow for the loss.

Death has stolen away his love and I cannot find you again.

Coldness has replaced the warmth of your presence

And once again I am alone in this barren land.

When may I return to your side?

How long must I wait for Death to reap once again?

In silence and endless winter I await

The return of the Reaper of Souls.

6 Responses to “An Ode to the Dead”

  1. Tia Sunday, 29 October 2006 at 5:27 pm #

    I LOVE thia poem. It is so good. You are truly gifted with all your writing. Peace and LOVE

  2. The Voice of Truth Tuesday, 7 November 2006 at 7:23 pm #

    I’m glad you like the poem. Do you think it adequately reflects her? Or at least doesn’t do too terrible of a job? Of course words cannot describe a person to the fullest because each individual is different and multi-faceted, but hopefully the essence of what she was and what she meant to me can come through despite my feeble words.

  3. alina Thursday, 20 March 2008 at 3:49 pm #

    I was searching google under “Viernes Santo” and found your pictures of Sevilla as well as this most beautiful poem “Ode to the dead”. Thank you for sharing .. ..

  4. Akinwale Akinfolarin Friday, 1 April 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    There could be none, a poem which reflects the painting of the loss of love than I believed I experienced in this piece. It is indeed a search worthful as I gazed and fed my eyes from the head to the foot. I came to a conclusion that – words will never wear its full regalia until contructed in the lines of poetry.

  5. weirdmaskman Wednesday, 20 November 2013 at 6:38 am #

    Bravo!

  6. Magnolia Wednesday, 8 January 2014 at 1:42 am #

    Thankѕ for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts aand I will be
    waiting for your next write ups thanks once again.

Leave a Reply

