Puente Weekend Nº1

16 Oct

In Spain we have these wonderful things called puente weekends. If you have a holiday on a Thursday you get that day off as well as Friday and the rest of the weekend, hence the term puente (bridge). For my first puente weekend I spent my Thursday chilling around Sevilla and then headed off to Malaga and later, Tarifa. I’ll put up some pictures as soon as my computer gets back to me.

Malaga is a nice little town along the coast with some decent beaches and a museum devoted to Picasso. We took a bicycle tour through the town which was an interesting experience. I definitely enjoyed getting a different view of the town by doing it that way and the tour guide was very amusing and informative. Probably the only downside was the constant fear of being run down by the motos. I decided to offset this by cutting off as many as possible. I also made the discovery that moscatel is the best wine in the world (ridiculously sweet) and I highly recommend it.

Tarifa is known as the windsurfing mecca of Spain because of the ridiculously high winds and amazing coast line. Saturday night was spent trying to figure out how to get to Tarifa and then finding our hostal. We were so ridiculously tired after our supposedly hour and a half bus trip (easily more like three hours) that we almost didn’t bother with dinner but it was almost midnight and I was starving. Tarifa has an awesome international scene and I managed to get some authentic italian food. I spent Sunday morning trying to learn how to kitesurf and it was a lot of fun, if slightly scary. When those kites pick up the winds they can really fly and take you along with them. I think I faceplanted a half dozen times or more. Apparently Tarifa also has a complete lack of transportation because getting to and from the beach required a ridiculous amount of time and skill. Afterwards we grabbed some food and headed back for Sevilla arriving at some ridiculous hour of the night. It was a fun weekend and heading back to Tarifa is definitely in my plans, but maybe after I manage to shake this sand from my hair.

3 Responses to “Puente Weekend Nº1”

  1. Tia Monday, 16 October 2006 at 7:36 pm #

    Can’t wait to see the pictures. I LOVE the updates. Glad you had a Great puente weekend. Your wrtings just come alive and I feel like I am right there with you. I will say that the whole puente weekend sounds really COOL, I am not sure if it would fly with my Boss, I will have to run it by him. Keep making the memories. Love, Hugs and Prayers.

  2. ym Monday, 16 October 2006 at 10:05 pm #

    WOW Your weekened sounded amazing. kitesurfing crazy and wild to me. glad you enjoyed it and ready for more. hope you took some pics I would love to see them. Tarifa does sound like a awesome place to visit exciting. enjoy all you can,the memories will be wonderful to have.I look forward to the wonderful postings of your future aventures.

  3. Cindy Monday, 16 October 2006 at 11:56 pm #

    Hmmm, I could use one of those puente weekends…right now it’s the week of midterms and all is crazy. Sounds like you are having a blast and getting to do lots of fun things. Keep updating and posting pictures so people like me with more boring lives than you can enjoy them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

