First Impressions of the Universidad de Sevilla

3 Oct

So I’ve been going to classes at the facultad de filología hispanica (department of Spanish philology) at the Universidad de Sevilla for approximately a week or so. Wow, I can’t believe it’s only been a week. That seems a little crazy to me. I started off with 9 classes, but have since narrowed them down to three: historia y ficcion en hispanoamericano, etimología y lexicología historico de español, y sintaxis historico de español. They are all very interesting classes, or at least what I can understand in them since my Spanish skills are really not up to the level of the last two classes.

There are certain aspects of the University that I am still attempting to adjust to. La Fabrica itself is a gorgeous, if rather old, building. Our luxurious surroundings consist of hard slabs of wood on which to rest our butts and backs complete with useless microphones that date from the 1970s. On the other hand, we have random courtyards that contain beautiful fountains and are open to the sky. Just the other day I ran across a marble-floored, open air room (for lack of a better word) that seemed to serve no purpose and contained neither people nor furniture. I have no idea what it’s used for, but it was rather pretty. Also, the facultad is surrounded by absolutely beautiful greenery and rather surprisingly, a moat-like thing. Considering Sevilla’s dry climate I’m not sure what’s up with the moat, but it is definitely not used as such right now.

Besides the amazing architecture and greenery, the University has several other surprises in store for the unwary. Most importantly, how to go about getting books! Truthfully, I still have no idea. They give you pages and pages of books you should read and then just send you out into the great unknown. I finally found out where to get the equivalent of a small coursepack when everyone in class pulled them out during lecture and I looked around frantically for the exit, or a friendly face. But as for the other classes I guess I’ll have to find out quickly before the lectures quickly outpace my prior knowledge of the subjects which in all likelihood they already have.

¡Hasta luego!

6 Responses to “First Impressions of the Universidad de Sevilla”

  1. ym Wednesday, 4 October 2006 at 10:23 pm #

    the university sounds crazy and amazing all at the same time. hope you adjust well, so you may enjoy it’s beauty it has to offer

  2. Tia Wednesday, 11 October 2006 at 7:49 pm #

    WOW……………That is so WILD, but you know what there is NOTHING that you and God can NOT do. Keep the FAITH. Remember that God simply ADORES you. Love and Hugs

  3. Banyuken Monday, 11 December 2006 at 7:14 pm #

    Well, you have a library in the building to take all the books you want… I guess you should have an ID card which enables you to take them. Ask the foreigner students department. Luck!

  4. The Voice of Truth Saturday, 13 January 2007 at 7:08 pm #

    Thanks, Banyuken. You really helped me out. I asked around and no problems at all; I got all the books I needed for my classes.

  5. Granada Thursday, 15 March 2007 at 9:20 pm #

    Did you know that the university building is a former cigarette factory? Just a bit of trivia for you. I studied there last semester (not in the actual facultad de filologia, but in the courses for foreigners). I´m thinking of trying to go to school there, in the actual university, any hints on the application process?

  6. The Voice of Truth Wednesday, 21 March 2007 at 9:10 pm #

    @Granada: I’m always surprised when I remember that the facultad is a converted cigarette factory. It’s ridiculously beautiful and seems more like a palace than anything else. On the other hand, it’s uncomfortable as hell with no heating or air-conditioning. Wish I could help about the matriculation but my program handled everything for us. On the other hand, my friend had to do something about her classes and the people at the facultad office were helpful and informative. So if you’re still in Sevilla/Spain you could try to visit in person and see if that helps. I always seem to get better responses in person than through email or phone. Just out of curiosity, why Granada for the name instead of Sevilla?

Leave a Reply

