Sevilla, Sevilla

28 Aug

I’m in Sevilla!🙂 Just thought I’d get that out. The city is beautiful. My roommate and I took a walk around the city for a few hours and it’s absolutely gorgeous. There are lots of shops and restaurants and so many interesting people! The Spaniards have been friendly or indifferent, but none have been rude so far, which is something of a surprise since we are foreign tourists. That in itself is quite different from the US.

As I sit here typing this I realize why the Spanish have siestas; they need them! It’s ridiculously hot outside and walking around was pretty intense even with water to drink which we bought at El Corte Ingles. Surprisingly, it’s a store of Spanish origin. So now it’s…

Just woke up from my nap. That was an excellent siesta; I highly recommend one to all of you.🙂 Not sure what I will do now that I have some time before dinner at 8 PM, or 20:00. That seems so late to me, silly Spanish people.😛 About an hour left before the shops reopen. They close from 2-5pm so that they can eat lunch and have a siesta. It’s really surprising as you walk around and then suddenly they all close.

I’ve only been in Spain a day and already it feels strange to talk or speak in English. I’m tempted to write my blog in Spanish, but I’d hate for anyone to feel left out. Any opinions? Perhaps I could write and translate portions?

The airplane rides went fine. No difficulties at all. On the last airplane ride a flight attendant gave me the cutest little candy in the shape of the plane! The airports were crazy, though. I had to take two different buses to get to my gate in London. That place was huge! Haha, I really got freaked out when we were on the bus and another passed us going on the right side. Definitely made me realize I wasn’t in the US anymore! Also, in the Barajas Madrid Airport I had to take two subways, a bus, and at least 15 different escalators just to get to my gate! It was craziness. But everyone was really nice there, even though I didn’t speak Spanish very well. They just pointed and spoke slowly.🙂

So far everything is going great. I haven’t had too many difficulties being understood or understanding what people tell me. Let’s hope I can keep that up in class!😛 Ok, I should get going now. Hasta luego! (See you later!)

3 Responses to “Sevilla, Sevilla”

  1. ym Tuesday, 29 August 2006 at 10:54 pm #

    I love the update. so glad your having fun and everthing went well with your air travel. and now your there,spain. the spanish people sound great. enjoy your siesta ,i’m sure the nights are long and full of fun. enjoy

  2. Tia Wednesday, 30 August 2006 at 2:37 am #

    WOW……..It sounds so cool. Yes, sometimes I wish I could take a Siesta, but my Boss I think would not like that. I am glad the people are all so friendly. Enjoy and have FUN. Make lots of memories. Love and Hugs

  3. the imaginary friend Saturday, 2 September 2006 at 9:42 pm #

    You should definitely translate portions (at least)! The imaginary friend could not fit in Spanish this year, so it would be good practice, neh? Also, I totally agree! Siestas are the best! I take them all the time… even when I’m not supposed to. I wish I could live in a country where people accept it. You lucky, lucky chica, you.

Leave a Reply

