Religious Musings

10 Aug

In keeping with the randomness of this blog I have decided to post some of my religious musings. Recently I’ve been reading a book about a man on a thirty day silent retreat with the spiritual exercises of St. Ignatius, founder of the Jesuit Order. It makes for very interesting reading even if the author’s style of writing is a little eccentric for my tastes. I am very interesting in reading the actual spiritual exercises of St. Ignatius. He seems to have been a very fascinating man and what I have read of his life and works would seem to make it well worth my time to study his way of meditation and discernment. I highly recommend doing a bit of research on him if you’re interested; he was truly an inspiring example.

Because of my reading of this book, I have been inspired to once again write in my journal. Here are a few excerpts from my writings that I found particularly interesting:

“The author deems spiritual poverty a simple thing and bemoans his inability to be poor in actuality. For myself, I could live easily in poverty for that is only of the material. But poverty of the spirit? That is much more difficult, for I am sorely lacking in humility. To say and acknowledge that God is the author of me in my entirety? My intelligence, my humor, my wit, my beauty, my energy, my intuition? All those things of which I am so proud: my audacity, my rebellion, my determination? None of it mine, but His. His gifts to me, not of my own making. The ultimate realization of our human poverty. Even my piety, my love of God, is a gift from Him.”

“In doing something special in order for our prayer to be heard, what is the point? Glory of God? To show Him we love Him more than others so He should answer our prayer instead? But if our love for Him is a gift from Him then does that not make all prayers equal? How much love we get from Him is how much love we give back, right? Or do we decide to hold back some of the love that He has given us? So how do we make sure to give Him back all this love in prayer? By doing something for His people? By praising Him? By sacrificing ourselves? What best shows Him our love or allows us a channel by which to give Him all that love?”

“An interesting point on Godliness and humanness. God created us with God-like aspects in the Garden of Eden with Adam and Eve. But with their betrayal of God, we lost these aspects and were banished. In a reversal of this process, Jesus comes to us in a completely human form. He empties himself of all God-like aspects and becomes a human in order to be betrayed by us. The new covenant with Jesus is created. He dies as a human and in His resurrection he restores us to eternal life. Through this we have once again been made God-like and immortal.”

I would welcome any of your own thoughts on these subjects. Nothing is more fun for me than an insightful religious debate.

4 Responses to “Religious Musings”

  1. the imaginary friend Friday, 18 August 2006 at 2:10 am #

    Man… okay. I’m going go ahead now because I read this entry a while ago, and I’ve spent I don’t know how long trying to think of some deep and inspiring opinions to answer your request for “own thoughts on these subjects”. I couldn’t think of any still, so I’m putting that on hold because I really wanted to tell you that I had St. Ignatius for my “saint research project” in elementary religion class. I wish I remembered more about him, but that’s part of the reason why I named Iggy (the bear, remember?) Sir Ignatius III! Random and uninspiring (I apologize), but I couldn’t help myself.

  2. The Voice of Truth Friday, 18 August 2006 at 2:15 am #

    I was just mentioning to the baka how sad I was that my favorite commentator hadn’t made a recent appearance. Very glad to have you back. 😀 I’m shocked that I had forgotten what you named Iggy. I find it very appropriate considering St. Ignatius’s background. 😉

  3. Tia Wednesday, 11 October 2006 at 7:59 pm #

    How cool that yo would be reading the 30 day silent retreat with St. Ignatius the founder of the Jesuit Order. Father Dan would be so HAPPY. How is Father Dan doing? Do you hear from him know that you are not in Ann Arbor anymore? I LOVE your writings, you are truly gifted. Keep up the good work. Love and Hugs

  4. The Voice of Truth Wednesday, 18 October 2006 at 11:59 am #

    Hey Tia, how’s it going? Thanks for the comments I appreciate knowing that you like to read my posts. I haven’t really talked to anyone from Ann Arbor in a while, but I’m pretty sure he’s doing good and keeping up with the social justice groups.

Leave a Reply

